Catching up on three-days worth of posts by writing about my favorite fantasy, sci-fi, and supers roleplaying games.

Rules_Cyclopedia_coverFavorite fantasy RPG, without a doubt, is Dungeons & Dragons. Let’s face it, without D&D, I would not be a gamer. This was my gateway drug, my first friend, my doorway into a whole new world of wonder. Yes, I may not play it right now, I may not have played it for a few years, I may not be thrilled about the current incarnation of the game, but at the end of the day, I still love D&D. My favorite iteration of the game was the collected Basic D&D rules in the Rules Cyclopedia, which is why I include the cover image to the right.

CyberpunkMy favorite sci-fi game is Cyberpunk 2020, which I already wrote about on Day 4. My sci-fi tastes tend to veer towards street-level glitzy future dystopia, and Cyberpunk delivers. Now, that said, for years I was totally enamored of Shadowrun as well, because it was D&D Cyberpunk, and sometimes that’s what you wanna play. And because I can’t make up my mind, my Sci-Fi Top 3 is completed by the very awesome Robotech RPG. I never cared too much for the system, but it was Robotech, and how could I not love transformable mecha?

conventioncomicsampleLastly, my favorite supers RPG is ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying. I’m not really into superhero RPGs, but this one hooked me right from the start. It uses a system that’s kind of a combination of the old Marvel Super Heroes RPG and Fate, featuring random character generation and quirky powers. It is easy to learn, easy to play, and lots of fun. I ran a game of ICONS at Gen Con a few years back where the player characters were con attendees given powers based around different types of games, and they had to battle the might of game creator Steve Kenson turned into the villainous RULES LAWYER! It was a blast.

