Forgotten Realms AtlasThe Forgotten Realms Atlas was this gorgeous book published in 1990 by TSR that was part map archive, part chronicle of the novels published up to that point, part travelogue across Faerun. Printed in black and sepia, it had an air of antiquity to it that made it seem like a found artifact rather than a book purchased at the store.

I spent long hours reading it, studying the maps, learning the history of the Realms. I poured over it cover to cover more times than I could ever count, and never got tired of it. Every time I see it on my bookshelf, every time I pick it up for some random reason, it takes me back to a simpler time when I felt right at home in the lands of Faerun. It remains to this day one of my absolute favorite books, gaming or otherwise, and certainly right in the top 3 of my Forgotten Realms Hall of Fame.

The page for the PDF version of the Atlas at DriveThruRPG.com has a product history by Shannon Applecline that is both short and interesting, if you’d like to know more.


During the month of August, I am participating in #RPGaDay, an opportunity to talk daily about different topics related to games and gaming, organized by Dave Chapman, designer of Doctor Who: Adventures In Time and Space. I’ve been out of gaming for a while, so this is gonna be an interesting exercise.

