I have lots of favorite RPG publishers. It happens when you know quite a few people in the industry and know first-hand how hard everyone works to make fantastic products for the love of the game. But to find the answer to today’s topic, I had to go with the company that not only published awesome games, but also transcended the books to affect my life as well.

White Wolf PublishingMy favorite publisher is 1990s White Wolf Publishing. To me, this was White Wolf’s golden age, the era of Vampire reigning supreme; the era of extravagance and opulence both in their games and in real life; the era of the legendary White Wolf parties at Gen Con; the era of the Masquerade. They were the goth-punk kings of the night, and they sold the attitude just as well as they sold the games. Between Vampire and Changeling, White Wolf dominated my gaming bookshelf and table through the decade. They were my rock stars, and like rock stars, they lived fast and died young. Though their legacy lives on, I will always remember those awesome 90s nights in the World of Darkness.


During the month of August, I am participating in #RPGaDay, an opportunity to talk daily about different topics related to games and gaming, organized by Dave Chapman, designer of Doctor Who: Adventures In Time and Space. I’ve been out of gaming for a while, so this is gonna be an interesting exercise.

