I gave this a bit of thought before returning to what was my gut answer right from the start.

None.

FAE/PTAI honestly can’t think of any show/movie/book/cartoon/comic/etc that I wish was an RPG. Or to be more accurate, to be its own game and/or system. Over the last few years, my style of gaming changed drastically to one requiring less rules and more improvisation. I want to be focused entirely in the story, not so much on the mechanics. And if I’m gonna have game mechanics, I want them to support the story and the players in an unobtrusive way. What I discovered is that there are two games that scratch that itch and which I can use to run any kind of game I want, whether totally made up, or emulating an existing universe. The games are Fate Accelerated, and Primetime Adventures.

Primetime Adventures lets me create a game that focuses on exploring story conflicts, while Fate Accelerated gives me game mechanics that push story development along. Both games are also quick reads, light in rules, easy to use, yet endless in possibilities.

With these two games, there’s no media I can’t turn into a game.


During the month of August, I am participating in #RPGaDay, an opportunity to talk daily about different topics related to games and gaming, organized by Dave Chapman, designer of Doctor Who: Adventures In Time and Space. I’ve been out of gaming for a while, so this is gonna be an interesting exercise.

