I had to dig back to figure out what to answer. I haven’t played anything this year, and while I went to Gen Con last year, it was only for two days, so aside from a quick playtest on the exhibit hall, I didn’t play anything there either. I had to go back to Origins 2014 to find the last time I played an RPG. Putting aside how sad that is, here’s the game I played.

Iron EddaIron Edda: War of Metal and Bone, by Tracy Barnett, is a Fate-powered game set in a fantasy Norse world where dwarven-created mechs ravage the land, opposed only by stalwart Viking warriors, mystical Runescribes, and Bonebonded, humans to bond themselves to the bones of dead giants. The setting is very evocative, and I had been wanting to give it a shot ever since hearing about it during its Kickstarter campaign. I had that chance at Origins 2014.

I played in a Games on Demand one-shot that I so wish could have gone on for a long campaign. We collaboratively made our stronghold, determined the conflict we faced, made characters with lives that intertwined, and played through a good chunk of the story of these people’s lives. We had action, we had drama, we had comedy. We had characters that mattered in each other’s lives. We even had a pair of star-crossed lovers kept apart by their duties to clan and the gods. It was fantastic. It was one of those rare 4-hour games that refills your gaming tank to the top. I’d love to play it again.

Ragnar & Bryn, star-crossed lovers kept apart by gods in Iron Edda. #Origins2014

A photo posted by Daniel M. Perez (@highmoon) on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:03am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js


During the month of August, I am participating in #RPGaDay, an opportunity to talk daily about different topics related to games and gaming, organized by Dave Chapman, designer of Doctor Who: Adventures In Time and Space. I’ve been out of gaming for a while, so this is gonna be an interesting exercise.

