2014/2015This past year, 2014, was interesting, to say the very least. I started it in a new city, hundreds of miles away from everything I had ever known, during the start of what would be a bitter winter, with a 1-month old kitten as my roommate. I had no idea what would happen, except that I needed to make it through.

This was a year of rebirth. I started the year simply existing, putting one foot in front of the other repeatedly because that’s what I had to do. I would wake up, go to work, come back home, sleep, then repeat it all over and over. If I wasn’t working, I was out driving around, getting to know my city, but not engaging with it. I was still dealing with some emotional baggage, although slowly I was making sense of it all.

Sometime around the start of spring, existing gave way to surviving. Little by little I started to take control of my new life, and although I faltered here and there, the general motion was forward. I began to feel at ease being a nurse, having people’s health entrusted to me. I made mistakes, but I learned as well, I learned a lot. Not only did I drive around the city, I visited places, talked to people, went to local events. And when I needed a break, I drove 10 hours away to spend a week in Washington DC. And my life changed.

In DC I saw old friends I hadn’t seen in years, rekindling friendships that had simply been put on pause. In DC I met with a new friend, one I had met online, one I had tried to meet once before but couldn’t due to circumstances. In DC I met Megan. After one Hello, I was hooked. After one magnificent day among the monuments of Washington DC, I was enchanted. After a few weeks, I was in love. Surviving gave way to living.

The rest of the year feels like a magnificent blur. Being in a long-distance relationship, I have traveled a lot in order to spend time with Megan, and I have loved every minute of it, every mile of it. I continued to grow in my career, and began to plan for the next step in my development as a nurse, applying to hospital jobs, and deciding to go back for my Bachelors in Science of Nursing.

As 2014 closed and I looked back on the first year of my new life, I was filled with satisfaction, with happiness, with pride, with love. Yes, there were tough moments, but they all led me to that next milestone, that next achievement. I made it through, I survived it, I lived it.

And now it’s time for 2015, and I look forward to all the wonders, all the challenges, all the blessings it has in store. It’s gonna be a fantastic year.

