On Friday 8/26 I finished the process of applying for the Accelerated Nursing program at Miami Dade College.

I headed that morning to the Medical Center Campus in the Health District of downtown Miami (which I have to say, is an awesome location, both for its proximity to my home in Miami Beach, and for its proximity to both Jackson and UM Hospitals) to take the TEAS V Exam. Two hours later I was done with the test and had an overall score of 77.3%, certainly over the 50-something percentage I needed to apply for the program.

After, I had to go see an advisor and after waiting a bit for one (and running up and down between the 1st and 2nd floors to pay for my application), we realized that FIU had not sent in the electronic transcript that I had requested a week prior. Which meant I had to waste yet another hour running up and down the three floors of the Medical Center Campus trying to find a public computer to print a copy of my unofficial transcript. That done, I finally met with the advisor and got everything squared away. My application was officially turned in (pending the arrival of my official transcript) and now I just need to wait for their answer.

In all honesty, MDC was never my first choice, but I am warming up to the idea of going there for the Accelerated Nursing Program really fast. It would be a very busy, very hectic year, but it would be one year, after which I could take the NCLEX and get my license as an RN. Here’s hoping.

