I had to drive my car this weekend for a very short distance, but it was enough to remind me of something very important and which I need to keep firmly in mind: my car is slowly dying. It is loosing power steering fluid quite fast, it has a minor but consistent motor oil leak and the left wheel wobbles a bit at the point where it connects to the axle. To repair these would cost far more than I am willing to put into the car, so I basically now have a motorized carriage with a countdown. To add to the thoughts I already had going about the car, I got the tag renewal papers in the mail: $58 to get the new 2011 sticker. And insurance is just around the corner.

I like my car, but aside from the inconvenience of not being able to dictate the precise times of my travels, I’ve been just fine taking the bus for the last 2 weeks. I am determined to reduce my car use this year, maybe even eliminate it, but when I think of just getting rid of the car once and for all, I vacillate.  It’s a big move because it doesn’t affect only me. Which isn’t to say that I haven’t gotten rid of my car due to my wife, but it is a reality that I have to consider.

Knowing the car is on its last legs makes this a bit easier; we all know what’s gonna happen and can start to prepare. For now I need to pay for the tag and insurance and see how much I can get out of it. After it’s gone, I don’t know, maybe I can get a scooter in order to have a motorized vehicle that can transport me faster than a bike or public transport when needed.

