Though I mentioned it on Twitter, I never did so here: last fall, I applied to a Senior Editor position at Wizards of the Coast. I’m looking to move to Seattle, and hey, is there a better place for a gamer looking to settle in the Emerald City?

Over the last couple months I’ve answered a few questions here and there, and I’ve made it through some rounds of elimination, which makes me feel pretty good about my resume and experience. On Thursday, January 15, I had my phone interview, part of one of the last rounds of interviews from what I was able to gather, done by Chris Perkins. He was very nice, polite and made me feel good during the interview, which was very welcomed seeing how a phone interview can be a bit impersonal. He asked me questions about my editing experience and I answered as well as I could.

Then he says he has a question that may put me a bit on the defensive, which immediately does, of course, though I sought to downplay it. He asks about something I said in a blog post I made back in June, 2008 (D&D 4e GSL), specifically, “Wizards of the Coast continues to become a company that I more and more do not want to support with my dollars.” I answered that yes, at the time I did feel that way due to the circumstances I mentioned in the post, though I had certainly changed my mind, evidenced by my purchase of the 4e core books and my stated desire to play 4e.

We spoke a bit more, the interview finished and we hung up. I felt OK about it (not great, but OK) and now it’s just a matter of waiting.

I found it interesting, and a bit creepy (an opinion shared by an ex-WotC employee I contacted for tips before the interview – no names now), that they went digging around my blog for mentions of WotC/Wizards of the Coast. I understand it, and it makes me wonder how widespread is this practice. I don’t know that my comment from 6 months ago hurt me now, and I make no apologies for being honest on my own blog and standing by my opinions as stated at any given time, based on the information I had at the time. But it does make me very much more aware of what I write now, because now I know, for sure, it can come back to the forefront in the future.

There’s a lesson there for all RPG bloggers: write what you may, but be ready to defend words you wrote if you seek to translate your gaming blogging into anything within the RPG industry.

And for the record, I didn’t get the Senior Editor job.

