The LCD monitor on my laptop has gone kaput. The LCD inverter is apparently overheating and both making the screen go black (you can see the desktop, but it’s impossible to work) and creating an expanding burn mark that starts at the lower right corner of the screen and then grows and grows. It seems Dell Inspiron notebooks suffer from this LCD inverter overheating problem, so I have found enough info to diagonse and know what to do to repair. I have already ordered a replacement inverter and I’ll give it a shot at changing it myself, with a visit to my local Geek Squad as my back-up plan.

I can check my mail in my wife’s computer (also a Dell Inspiron, though not as heavily used as mine), but until fixed, I cannot do any work, be it graphics, sales, or podcasting (which sucks, because I was planning and looking forward to sitting down Memorial Day afternoon to edit the next episode of The Digital Front and record the needed parts for the next episode of The Gamer Traveler). Now I’m stuck cleaning around the house. (sigh)

