E. Gary Gygax
July 27, 1938 – March 4 (GM’s Day), 2008

The internet is aflutter with the news: Gary Gygax, co-creator of Dungeons & Dragons, founder of Gen Con, virtually the father of the entire Role Playing Games hobby, has passed away today, March 4, on GM’s Day. I am still a bit stunned over the news, to be perfectly honest.

I saw Gary at last year’s Gen Con and never took the opportunity to go and say hi and thank him for so many wonderful times thanks to the games he pioneered. I will not get that chance now. I am immediately reminded of when I was first introduced to Dungeons & Dragons, when I first held that red box in my hands, when I read that book and suddenly my life was changed forever. Gaming has been an integral part of my life for 21 years now, and it is all thanks to that little game Gary and Dave created. It is common knowledge that Gary loved to hear other gamers’ stories about their D&D games (and that alone should be enough to grant him sainthood); if there is something here that dispells a bit the gloom of the day is that now Gary will be able to know ALL our stories, and I think he will enjoy that a lot.

My condolences go to his entire family. Every single gamer out there who has ever rolled funny-shaped dice and cast magic missile shares your grief today.

To you, Gary, G-dspeed. So long and thank you for the games. Now, go play, and make the man proud.

