It rocked, plain and simple. My wife did an awesome job of putting together this little 80’s-themed shindig and though I bitched and moaned every time she asked me to move this, or arrange that, or whatever, I profusely thank her for what I think was the best birthday party ever (barring my Venice-themed 30th b-day).

There were about 15 people here, including the in-laws, who left early as expected, and a bunch of friends. Now that I think about it, though, except for two (my buddy and his in-the-process-of-becoming-ex-wife — yeah, that was fun there for a moment) they were all friends of my wife. I guess I need to get more friends. But it was neat, and among the invited was a dude (Carlos Hernan, who is an awesome pianist) who had a class with my wife back in college and who now lives in, get this, Paris. Yes, Paris, as in France. Needless to say I was a tad jealous and I put him through 20 Questions about the move and living in the most awesome city in the world.

Anyway, the party was great, and we danced and lipsynched and played Trivia Pursuit: Totally 80’s and watched classic 80’s flicks like Sixteen Candles and The Breakfast Club. We also ate, had amazing guava & cheese cupcakes (courtesy of Caramelo Cupcakes), and had lots of yummy Belgian and Dutch beers. I made out pretty good in the gift dept, and aside from the Borders card, which will be promptly spent today, all the others will be put towards the one material thing I want most now: a Wii.  🙂

Here are some pics of the party, and you can see more on Flickr: My 80’s Birthday Party!


The Benelux Alcohol Brigade


Jersey Girl & New Wave Boy


The Birthday (Cup)Cake Tower


Slinky Attack!


Guitar Hero


Rock on! (That’s I-live-in-Paris dude to the left)


I’m da man


Lipsynching “Faith”


The morning after.

Good times.  🙂

