Got back today from our Thanksgiving Weekend getaway to the mountains of western North Carolina. The place was beautiful, the scenery truly breathtaking, but I have no idea how city folk can live up there. I can see the allure of the country; I had a lot of fun hiking and visiting a great cavern and only one of hundreds of awesome waterfalls, but I can’t quite deal with the isolation from civilization for more than a few days, let alone the issue of there being almost no Jews up there. Considering we were in prime Billy Graham country, I’m not surprised there aren’t any Jews outside of Asheville. I should have pictures up on Flickr by tomorrow.

NaNoWriMo will be done in 4 days and I am way behind in my writing. My word count while in NC was a bust; I wrote as regularly as I could, and I certainly got a number of words in, but as Day 27 is about to come to a close, I am barely above the 40K mark, having only 3 days to write 9,000 words. I will do it, however, I will succeed. I did not get this far to fail within spitting distance of the finish line. I am taking a short break right now, having some cereal, and then it’s back to the grind with me, trying to complete at least 2,500 words tonight, if not a full 3,000.

Good night and wish me luck.

