Female circumcision surfaces in Iraq – Yahoo! News

I am so incredibly astonished and angry that such a barbaric and horrible practice as Female Genital Mutilation (Google) is still in practice in this backwater town in Iraq! I mean, this is a practice that has even been condemned by Muslim imams as not being part of the Islamic belief. I don’t want to hear it about us having to respect other culture’s religious practices because it is not (FGM is a social practice, and I don’t care about respecting it identified as such either), despite the misguided interpretation of some passage of other of the Koran. And I don’t even want to hear about this being compared to male circumcision, because they are not the same thing, not even close. I am all for tolerance across the board, but then I see things like this and I seriously think about reconsidering my stance.

My favorite part of the article:

When WADI presented the results of its survey in Vienna this spring, Mr. Osten-Sacken recalls, various Iraqi groups accused the group of being an agent of the Israelis.

Man, it didn’t take long for Israel to get dragged into the fray and down into the mud. Mind you, the accusation did not stem from claims the study is making up information, rather, “They accused us of publicizing the country’s secrets.”

I’m just speechless.

